Skip to content
23 January 32010 / Robin Wellner

Greek to me

While browsing Wikipedia, I suddenly remembered a little program that I wrote that might interest people.

It is a small command line tool written in Python (I also includes a GUI if you prefer that) that translates Latin characters to Greek (or the other way around). It handles casing, breathing, multicharacter transliteration, iota subscriptum and punctuation elegantly, but can’t handle diacritics.

I called it Griek, a portmanteau between Greek and Grieks (the Dutch word for Greek, obviously). It is especially useful if you have Greek as a school subject, like me.

Leave a Reply

