Skip to content
29 January 32010 / Robin Wellner

Midori: so good it’s bad?

As you might remember from a previous post, I like Midori. The idea, the footprint, the features. Only the lack of the sea of extensions Firefox has, the rather awkward mapping of bookmarks between the two, and having to transfer all the passwords stored in Firefox, prevented me from using Midori full-time.

Or so I told myself.

The real problem with Midori are the all-too frequent crashes. Sometimes it happens when pressing the right mouse button: instead of popping up the context menu, Midori kills itself faster than you can say “segfault”. I don’t know what really happens then, but I don’t want to find out either. I just hope it gets fixed sometime soon, and that the new version makes it to Xubuntu 9.04. Yes, that’s right: the current version.

I don’t want to upgrade anymore. The laptop I’m using at the moment is rather old. I want to buy a new one, and install shiny Kubuntu on it. I’m not sure how I’m going to like it, as my exposure to KDE variety of Ubuntu has been rather short.

But I digress.

I could of course try to fix the crashing myself. It is, after all, Open Source. However, it does not seem like a very good idea. Jumping right in to fix some of the most complex and hard-to-find problems with virtually no experience with C?

So what am I going to do? The classic answer would be “write my own”, however, a full featured browser is something quite different from a content processor or a game, even if I don’t write my own rendering system (I could use Gecko or WebKit). My temporary solution is simple: keep using Firefox whenever I have enough RAM left. Pray Midori doesn’t crash otherwise.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. qubodup / Jan 29 2010 13:56

    Maybe uzbl will be one day the answer

Trackbacks

  1. Midori: Will you take me back? « gvxDev

Leave a Reply

